How Many Star Wars Movies Are There?

We all know there are six Star Wars movies, but did you know there are actually seven? Here’s a quick rundown of the franchise’s films.

Checkout this video:

How Many Star Wars Movies Are There?

There are eleven movies in the Star Wars saga, including the three prequels and the two spin-offs. The first six movies are numbered Episodes I through VI, while the last five are simply referred to as “Star Wars” movies.

The Original Trilogy

The Star Wars movies are some of the most iconic and well-known films ever made. The original trilogy, which consists of Episodes IV-VI, is particularly beloved by fans. These movies follow the story of Luke Skywalker, Leia Organa, Han Solo, Chewbacca, and Obi-Wan Kenobi as they battle the evil Empire. The original trilogy was released between 1977 and 1983, and remains highly popular today.

The Prequel Trilogy

The Prequel Trilogy refers to the three Star Wars movies released between 1999 and 2005, which chronicle the events leading up to the original movie. These movies are:
-Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace (1999)
-Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones (2002)
-Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith (2005)

The Sequel Trilogy

Following the success of the original trilogy, Lucasfilm announced in October 2012 that production on a sequel trilogy was set to begin. The first installment, Episode VII, was released on December 18, 2015. Episode VIII was released on December 15, 2017, and Episode IX is set to be released on December 20, 2019.

The Anthology Films

The Anthology Films, also known as the Star Wars Saga Films, are a series of standalone films set in the Star Wars universe. These films are not part of the main Skywalker story arc, but focus on other characters and settings within the Star Wars universe. The first Anthology film, Rogue One, was released in 2016. The second, Solo: A Star Wars Story, is set to be released in 2018.

The Television Shows

The answer to this question is a bit complicated. There are actually two different types of Star Wars movies – the official movies released in theaters, and the less-popular television shows.

The official movies released in theaters include Episode I: The Phantom Menace (1999), Episode II: Attack of the Clones (2002), Episode III: Revenge of the Sith (2005), Episode IV: A New Hope (1977), Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back (1980), and Episode VI: Return of the Jedi (1983). In addition, there are also three prequel movies planned for release in the next few years – Episode VII: The Force Awakens (2015), Episode VIII (2017), and Episode IX (2019).

The less-popular Star Wars television shows include The Clone Wars (2008-2014) and Star Wars Rebels (2014-present). These shows are not as popular as the movies, but they are still enjoyable to watch.

The Video Games

There are a total of eleven Star Wars movies, including the three most recent prequels. The first six movies are the “original trilogy,” which were released between 1977 and 1983. These are the movies that most people think of when they think of Star Wars. The next three movies are the “prequel trilogy,” which were released between 1999 and 2005. These movies take place before the original trilogy, and tell the story of Anakin Skywalker’s fall to the dark side and transformation into Darth Vader. Finally, there is the “sequel trilogy,” which consists of the most recent three movies. These movies take place after the original trilogy, and follow the stories of Luke Skywalker’s children, Rey and Kylo Ren.

The Books

The first six Star Wars movies are known as the “Skywalker Saga.” They follow the story of Luke Skywalker, his sister Leia, and their friends as they battle against the evil empire.

In addition to the Skywalker Saga, there are two other trilogies of Star Wars movies. The first trilogy is known as the “Clone Wars” trilogy, and it is set during the time period between Episodes II and III. The second trilogy is known as the “Sequel Trilogy” and it is set after Episode VI.

Lastly, there are a number of stand-alone Star Wars movies that are not part of any trilogy. The most recent stand-alone movie is “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story,” which was released in 2016.

The Comics

The comics are generally feeling left out when it comes to the recent release of The Last Jedi. But, the comics actually contributed to the story line of the film in a big way. Without the comic arc, Luke would not have gone to find the first Jedi temple, and Rey would not have had her vision quest. Along with these two things, the introduction of Snoke was first done in the comics. So, while the movies might get all of the attention, the comics are still an important part of Star Wars canon.

The Expanded Universe

In addition to the nine main Star Wars movies, there are also numerous spin-offs, TV shows, comics, and books that make up the Expanded Universe. While not all of these are considered canon, they are still part of the overall story.

Here is a list of the most notable Expanded Universe content:

-The Clone Wars (TV show)
-The Clone Wars (movie)
-Star Wars Rebels (TV show)
-Rogue One (movie)
-Solo (movie)

Scroll to Top